U.S. senator from Alaska since January 2015; the incumbent. Campaign affiliation: Registered Republican.
ADVERTISEMENT
Voter guide
Background, stated goals, record, and money
Background comes from official records, and from the campaign's own biography where the bullet says so; goals are summarized from the campaign's own platform and stay attributed; the record lines are official actions with the government source attached; money is shown as filed, with the filing window and the reconciliation in the note under the table, and is not evidence of why any position was taken.
Dan S. Sullivan
Background
Alaska's U.S. senator since January 6, 2015, re-elected in 2020. He sits on the Armed Services; Commerce, Science, and Transportation; Environment and Public Works; and Veterans' Affairs committees. Congress.gov, Alaskans for Dan Sullivan
His campaign says he served more than thirty years as a Marine Corps officer, active and reserve, retiring in early 2024 as a colonel in the reserve. Alaskans for Dan Sullivan
More jobs, more money in people's pockets, lower taxes on working Alaskans, safer communities and a stronger nation, which his pamphlet statement calls his vision for Alaska. Alaska Division of Elections
A bycatch law: his campaign's ad says he is leading with the most comprehensive bycatch legislation ever, and his Bycatch Reduction Act has been ordered reported by the Senate Commerce Committee. Alaskans for Dan Sullivan, Congress.gov
His S.J. Res. 80, overturning the Bureau of Land Management's record of decision for the National Petroleum Reserve's leasing plan, became Public Law 119-47. Congress.gov
Money from political committees in the 2025-2026 cycle filings through July 29, 2026: filing lines 11B (party committees), 11C (other political committees) and 12 (transfers from joint fundraising committees), grouped by the FEC's recorded type of the contributing committee. Each line's itemized rows reconcile to the campaign's own summary total: $62,000.00 on line 11B, $1,936,758.00 on line 11C and $2,808,865.46 on line 12, for a table total of $4,807,623.46. Memo entries, which restate money already counted, are left out. Donations individuals made through ActBlue or WinRed are individual contributions and are not in the table, and neither is any other individual contribution: the table is a part of what his committee raised, not its total. The rows sum to 4,807,623.46 dollars.
ADVERTISEMENT
Words and record
Where statements meet the record
Each card is labeled narrowly, by rule, and states its own limit.
Dan S. Sullivan
Legal help for domestic violence survivors: the POWER Act
Matches stated record claim
What they say
His campaign biography says his POWER Act has enabled thousands of survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault to reach legal services.
“His Pro-Bono Work to Empower and Represent (POWER) Act has enabled thousands of survivors of these heinous crimes to access legal services”
He sponsored the POWER Act, S. 717, introduced March 23, 2017; it became Public Law 115-237 on September 4, 2018, with its pro bono program set to run for four years. He then sponsored S. 3115, the POWER 2.0 Act, introduced October 28, 2021, which removes that limit by striking “for a period of 4 years”; the Senate passed it on August 6, 2022 and it became Public Law 117-252 on December 20, 2022. Mary Peltola introduced a House bill with the same operative text, H.R. 9113, on September 30, 2022; that bill was not acted on, and the enacted law is his Senate bill.
Limit: Both laws are his by sponsorship, which is what “his” claims. How many survivors have reached legal help because of them is not reported by the laws or by any official source this desk read, so “thousands” is not settled either way. Both candidates in this race claim the 2022 law, and each claim is shown on its own card.
Dan S. Sullivan
The Save Our Seas Acts
Matches stated record claim
What they say
His campaign biography says his Save Our Seas Act and Save Our Seas 2.0 Act were signed into law by President Trump and are the most comprehensive ocean cleanup legislation in history.
“His Save Our Seas (SOS) Act and SOS 2.0 Act, signed into law by President Trump”
He sponsored both. The Save Our Seas Act of 2018, S. 3508, became Public Law 115-265 on October 11, 2018, and the Save Our Seas 2.0 Act, S. 1982, became Public Law 116-224 on December 18, 2020; both dates fall in President Trump's first term. The 2.0 Act is the law that established the Marine Debris Foundation, which his campaign also credits to him. A third bill of his, the Save Our Seas 2.0 Amendments Act, S. 216, became Public Law 119-65 on December 26, 2025.
Limit: The laws are his by sponsorship and were signed when the claim says. “The most comprehensive ocean cleanup legislation in history” is a comparison no official source makes, and it is not judged here. A bill he introduced in 2017 under the name Save Our Seas Act, S. 756, was later used as the vehicle for the First Step Act, a criminal-justice law; it is not counted as an ocean law.
Dan S. Sullivan
The Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act
Matches stated record claim
What they say
His campaign says he spearheaded the Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act, bringing scientists, stakeholders and policymakers together to understand declining salmon runs.
“He also spearheaded the Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act”
He sponsored the Act as S. 3429, introduced December 16, 2021; the Senate passed it and it was held at the House desk. Its text became law another way, as Title III of Division S of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023, Public Law 117-328, which says the title may be cited as the Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act. He voted Nay on that act: the Congressional Record prints him among the 29 nays on roll call 421 of December 22, 2022, the Senate's final vote on it, which carried 68 to 29.
Limit: The Act is his and its text is law, which is what “spearheaded” claims. It became law inside a year-end spending act he voted against, so his vote on the enacting bill ran the other way from the provision he wrote; a vote on an omnibus spending act is not a vote on any one title of it.
Dan S. Sullivan
Taxes: permanent rates, tips and overtime
Matches stated direction
What they say
His campaign quotes him saying that in 2025 he helped secure permanent lower tax rates for working families, and a campaign ad released on September 23, 2026 says that thanks to him Alaskans have no tax on overtime and no tax on tips.
“securing permanent lower tax rates to support working families”
He voted Yea on Senate passage of H.R. 1, the 2025 reconciliation act (roll call 372, 50 to 50 with the Vice President voting yes); it became Public Law 119-21 on July 4, 2025. Section 70101 removes the 2025 end date from the lower individual rates first enacted in 2017, which makes them permanent. Sections 70201 and 70202 create deductions rather than exemptions: tips up to $25,000, and overtime up to $12,500 ($25,000 for a joint return), both reduced above $150,000 of modified adjusted gross income ($300,000 joint) and both ending after 2028.
Limit: He voted for the law he credits, and the permanent-rates half of the claim is exact. “No tax on” tips and overtime is the ad's shorthand for capped, income-limited income-tax deductions that end after 2028; tips or overtime above the caps are still taxed. His was one of fifty votes needed.
Dan S. Sullivan
Energy: opening Alaska land to oil and gas
Matches stated direction
What they say
His campaign says he is running on a record that includes unleashing Alaska's energy potential.
He sponsored S.J. Res. 80, which overturned the Bureau of Land Management's record of decision for the National Petroleum Reserve's leasing plan; it became Public Law 119-47 on December 5, 2025. He voted Yea on the 2025 reconciliation act (roll call 372), whose section 50104 requires at least four more area-wide oil and gas lease sales on the Arctic refuge's Coastal Plain within ten years, and whose section 50105 restores leasing in the Petroleum Reserve under the 2020 plan and requires at least five lease sales there within ten years.
Limit: A law that requires lease sales or restores a leasing plan opens land to production; it does not produce oil, and nothing in these records measures production that followed. The records show the direction he claims, not the outcome “unleashing” implies.
Dan S. Sullivan
Coast Guard money and the Juneau icebreaker
Matches stated direction
What they say
His campaign says he helped secure the historic $25 billion investment in the Coast Guard, including $300 million for the port infrastructure to homeport the icebreaker Storis in Juneau.
“helped secure the historic $25 billion investment in the U.S. Coast Guard”
Section 40001 of the 2025 reconciliation act, Public Law 119-21, which he voted for (roll call 372), provides $24,593,500,000 for the Coast Guard, of which $300,000,000 is “for homeporting of the existing polar icebreaker commissioned into service in 2025”. The law does not name the vessel or Juneau. The Coast Guard's spending plan, printed in a Senate hearing record of January 29, 2026, lists “CGC Storis Homeport ($300 million)” for waterfront work in Juneau. The section sits in the law's Commerce Committee title, and he chaired that committee's Coast Guard subcommittee in 2025. At the 2026 hearing, the Coast Guard's Commandant thanked him for his support for the $300 million.
Limit: The dollar figures match the law, and he voted for it. His subcommittee role and the Commandant's thanks back “helped secure”, but the record does not show who wrote the section.
Dan S. Sullivan
Secure Rural Schools payments
Matches stated direction
What they say
His campaign says he championed the reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools program, which it says provides Juneau about $1 million a year.
“Senator Sullivan championed the reauthorization of the Secure Rural School program”
He was an original cosponsor of S. 356, the Secure Rural Schools Reauthorization Act of 2025, sponsored by Senator Mike Crapo of Idaho and introduced February 3, 2025. It became Public Law 119-58 on December 18, 2025.
Limit: An original cosponsorship shows he backed the bill from the day it was filed. It does not show how much of its passage was his work, which is what “championed” claims. The $1 million a year for Juneau is a payment figure the law does not state and is not checked here.
Dan S. Sullivan
Bills signed into law in 2025
Matches stated record claim
What they say
His campaign says he was tied for first in the Senate for the number of bills signed into law in 2025.
“Senator Dan Sullivan is tied for first in the Senate for the number of bills signed into law in 2025”
Counting every public law signed in 2025, from the end of the 118th Congress and the first year of the 119th, by the senator who sponsored the bill that was enacted: three are his, S. 423, the PRO Veterans Act (Public Law 119-33, August 14), S.J. Res. 80 (Public Law 119-47, December 5) and S. 216, the Save Our Seas 2.0 Amendments Act (Public Law 119-65, December 26). Senator John Kennedy of Louisiana also sponsored three, and no other senator sponsored more than two. Counting bills alone, without joint resolutions, he has two, tied with Senators Jerry Moran, Gary Peters and John Cornyn, and no senator has more, so he is tied for first on either count.
Limit: The campaign cites “recent reporting” without naming it, so this desk made its own count from Congress.gov's public-law lists, by sponsor of the enacted bill; a count that credited provisions folded into other laws could come out differently. The campaign's separate statement that he has more than 60 bills signed into law is not settled: Congress.gov records fifteen measures of his own number becoming law since 2015, one of them the First Step Act, which used a bill of his as its vehicle, and no official source counts provisions of his carried in other laws.
Dan S. Sullivan
A ban on Russian and Chinese seafood imports
Matches stated direction
What they say
His election pamphlet statement says “We’ve passed historic legislation” to do four things: clean up our oceans, strengthen salmon runs, reduce bycatch, and ban the importation of Russian and Chinese trawl-caught fish. A campaign ad released on August 11, 2026 says he banned the importation of Russian and Chinese fish.
“He banned the importation of Russian and Chinese troll caught fish”
No law this desk read bans importing Russian or Chinese fish. His two bills to restrict Russian seafood imports, the United States-Russian Federation Seafood Reciprocity Acts of 2022 (S. 3614) and 2023 (S. 2011), were referred to the Finance Committee and went no further. His Fighting Foreign Illegal Seafood Harvests Act, S. 688, passed the Senate by unanimous consent on March 22, 2026 and is held at the House desk; it orders a study of Russian and Chinese seafood reprocessing and says it carries no authority to impose sanctions on imports. The closest enacted provision is section 831 of the defense authorization for Fiscal Year 2026, Public Law 119-60, signed December 18, 2025, which stops the Defense Department buying seafood from China, Russia, Iran or North Korea for dining halls, ships and commissaries, with waivers. That limits what the Pentagon buys, not what enters the country, and it is not limited to trawl-caught fish. The Senate Armed Services Committee's version of the bill, reported July 15, 2025, carried a China-only provision as its section 628; the committee's report presents it as the committee's recommendation and names no author. His Senate office says he offered it, and Representative Chris Smith said on April 16, 2026 that the final bill “included a sweeping Sullivan amendment” on Chinese seafood in commissaries. Imports of Russian seafood are banned by executive order: Executive Order 14068 of March 2022, and Executive Order 14114 of December 22, 2023, which let the ban reach Russian-caught fish processed in another country. Neither is legislation.
Limit: No law bans those imports. The closest is a 2025 defense-law section, which his office and Rep. Chris Smith credit to him, that stops the Pentagon buying seafood from China, Russia, Iran or North Korea.
Dan S. Sullivan
Fundraising: his 2025 quarters
Matches stated record claim
What they say
His campaign announced $1.2 million raised in the third quarter of 2025 with roughly $4.8 million on hand, and $1.4 million in the second quarter with about $3.9 million on hand.
“announced it raised $1.2 million in the third quarter of 2025”
His principal committee, Alaskans for Dan Sullivan, reported $1,182,205.43 in receipts for July 1 to September 30, 2025 and $4,760,088.63 cash on hand at the end of it. For April 1 to June 30, 2025 it reported $1,404,293.84 in receipts and $3,907,622.89 on hand. Each rounds to the figure announced.
Limit: The 2025 figures match the filings. The campaign's first-quarter 2026 announcement, $2.1 million raised across all of his authorized committees and $7.5 million on hand, is not settled by the principal committee's report, which shows $1,734,436.95 raised and $7,086,052.55 on hand for January 1 to March 31, 2026: adding his committees' reports together would count transfers between them twice, so the combined figure cannot be read off the filings this desk used.
The Division of Elections listed four certified candidates for U.S. Senator when The Stated Record checked it on September 23, 2026: Gerald L. Heikes, Mary Peltola, Dan S. Sullivan and Daniel J. Sullivan Jr.
Official results: Mary Peltola 82,244 (49.54%), Dan S. Sullivan 68,726 (41.40%), Daniel J. Sullivan Jr. 4,107 (2.47%), Gerald L. Heikes 1,741 (1.05%), among sixteen candidates.
Public Law 119-21. Dan S. Sullivan voted Yea on Senate passage (roll call 372). It makes the 2017 individual rates permanent, creates capped deductions for tips and overtime through 2028, requires Arctic refuge and Petroleum Reserve lease sales, and funds the Coast Guard.
The Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023 becomes law
Public Law 117-328 carried the Alaska Salmon Research Task Force Act, Dan S. Sullivan's S. 3429, and the University of Alaska land program that was also in Mary Peltola's H.R. 9496. He voted Nay on the act and she voted Yea.
S. 3115, sponsored by Dan S. Sullivan, became Public Law 117-252, removing the four-year limit. Mary Peltola had introduced a House bill with the same operative text, H.R. 9113, on September 30, 2022, and spoke and voted for S. 3115 in the House. Both candidates claim this law.
S. 717, sponsored by Dan S. Sullivan, became Public Law 115-237, creating a pro bono legal program for survivors of domestic violence set to run four years.